Reaction score
Hi folks, newbie here today but thought i'd logg on and get some advice.

Basically i'm presently driving an 05 clio 1.2 16v and am now looking for something a little quicker (previously had a Type R Civic but had to sell it to do the house purchase thing) - my budget is 10k and I cant decide whether to go for a 182 Cup now or hang on a bit till the Trophy reaches that level. Car would only really be used at weekends as I live in Essex and get the tube to work in London so mileage would be something like 5-6k per year.

Did a couple of track days in my civic and really enjoyed them, so something i'd like to get back into again - great fun :D

Any ideas/comments greatly appreciated (tup)

Reaction score
i dont think u will find a good trophy for 10k for a long time... mightaswell get a 182

welcome aswell

Reaction score
You wouldn't be disappointed by a Clio 182 with Cup Packs. I do plenty of cross country miles in one and there's only 3 BHP/Tonne difference. The Trophy feels a tad sportier as it's got the lower recaros and is noisier due to less deadening. The Xenons and Climate are nice touches too.

Reaction score
To be honest, if it's just a weekend car, I'd hang fire. You will lose an awful lot of cash on the 1.2 when you sell or trade in, so you might as well wait a wee while for Trophy (and other 182) prices to drop. You'll get a much better deal all round and will end up with a lot more car for your money, plus some track day quids when you do change.

There might be a bit of a drop in 182 prices (although less so for the Trophy) if the new 197 proves to be amazing, but I wouldn't put much faith in that.

Dull I know, but why not shove the cash in a savings account in the meantime to get a few quid and stop you frittering it away?

Reaction score
drexel said:
i dont think u will find a good trophy for 10k for a long time...